Subway is a quick-service restaurant that tends to make headlines quite a bit, and it’s met no shortage of controversy over the years — but it remains one of the world’s largest sandwich chains and is still going strong today. With 37,000 locations across 100 countries, you’re bound to find a Subway pretty much anywhere you are, serving up signature subs and made-to-order sandwiches.
The company is “founded on fresh”, boasting quality, better-for-you ingredients at an affordable price. And this sub shop is no doubt a quick and convenient choice when you’re craving a meaty sandwich packed with fresh fillings, seasonings, and sauces on the go. But what if you’re vegan?
Behind that case filled with cold cuts and condiments, are there any vegetarian or plant-based choices for those who follow a vegan lifestyle? It turns out you have a few options at the popular chain — let’s dive into everything you can order at Subway on a vegan diet.
Vegan items available on the Subway menu
There’s some bad news and good news for vegans at Subway. The bad news is that if you’re looking for breakfast, you’ll need to keep on looking. Unfortunately none of Subway’s breakfast items are vegan, nor can they easily be made vegan — they all come with some form of eggs, meat, or other animal-based dairy products like meat and cheese.
The good news is that you’re in better shape if you’re ordering lunch or dinner. Subway does offer a vegetable-based Veggie Patty that can be added to sandwiches and salads; while the patty wasn’t always vegan because it contained eggs and milk, its recipe has recently been updated and it’s now made with fully vegan ingredients. Subway also tested a Beyond Meatball Sub back in 2019, but it disappeared rather quickly and didn’t score a permanent spot on the menu in the US.
The Veggie Patty and Veggie Delight will be your two main order options at Subway for a vegan meal. The Veggie Patty comes with lettuce, baby spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers and red onions, and the Veggie Delight is the same order, sans the actual vegetable patty. These can both be made in the form of subs, wraps, salads, and bowls. But outside of the curated menu items, the beauty of Subway is that you can build your own meal — so you can go crazy with any vegetable or plant-based ingredients they offer.
One thing to be aware of is that not all of Subway’s breads are created equal — several are made with milk, eggs, cheese, or honey. So you’ll want to be sure to stick to their vegan bread and wrap options when you order. But luckily there are still a handful to choose from, and you have plenty of options for vegan-friendly condiments and sauces as well!
Below is a complete list of everything you can order at Subway, including the menu items that are vegan as is as well as any vegan-friendly ingredients found behind the ordering bar. Next time you stroll into the sandwich shop, have at it!
|Vegan Menu Items (As Is)|
|Veggie Delight (Sub, Wrap, or Salad)|
Veggie Patty (Sub, Wrap, Salad, or No Bready Bowl)
|Vegan Breads + Wraps|
Tomato Basil Wrap
|Vegan Sides + Extras|
|Guacamole (Smashed Avocado)|
GoGo SqueeZ Applesauce
Chips (Except for Doritos and SunChips)
|Vegan Condiments, Sauces + Dressings|
Oil and Vinegar
Red Wine Vinegar
Sweet Onion Teriyaki Sauce
Freshly Brewed Iced Tea
Honest Kids Juice Drinks
Simply Drinks (Apple, Orange, and Lemonade)
Subway offers a Veggie Patty, which had previously contained milk and eggs but has since been updated with vegan-friendly ingredients according to Subway’s ingredient list. However, availability may be limited based on your location.
Subway has several vegan bread and wrap options, but not all of their breads are vegan – many are made with eggs, milk, cheese, or honey. Subway’s vegan bread options are the Artisan Flatbread, Hearty Multigrain, Italian, Sourdough, Plain Wrap, Tomato Basil Wrap, and Spinach Wrap.
Unfortunately Subway does not offer any vegan breakfast options on their menu. All of the chain’s breakfast items contain eggs, meat, or dairy products like cheese and milk.